Home / Zakat
Give Zakat To The Needy

The World’s Most Vulnerable Need Your Support.

100% Zakat Donation Policy | Give With Confidence

Awarded “Charity Of The Year” at the National British Muslim Awards.

Why Should I Give Zakat?

‘Take from their wealth so that you might purify and sanctify them.’ —The Holy Qur’an (9:103)

What Is Zakat?

Zakat is the concept of obligatory charity in Islam. It’s how we give back, out of our own wealth, to those less fortunate. The word ‘zakat’ comes from the Arabic ‘to purify’, Allah swt says in the quran: “take from their wealth so that you might purify and sanctify them” (9:103). By recognising that one’s wealth is a gift from Allah (SWT) and giving away a portion of it to others, a Muslim purifies the rest of his or her wealth from greed and miserliness. In a world of gross social and economic inequality, it is vital for Muslims to uphold the tradition of Zakat.

Zakat is a right which the poor have over the wealthy; it is the duty of every wealthy muslim to fulfil this responsibility to those who are less fortunate. Over the years we have used zakat to distribute food and water to the most needy. We have used it to support poor villages, provided people with the means to improve their living conditions and attain their basic needs. We have used it to provide urgent humanitarian medical relief and shelter for people in conflict zones.. All Zakat is spent on projects which are within the Zakat eligible categories

Who Can Receive Your Zakat?

Zakat cannot be paid to everyone. There are eight specific categories of people to whom zakat can be given:  The alms are only for the Fuqara’ (the poor), and Al-Masakin (the needy) and those employed to collect (the funds); and to attract the hearts of those who have been inclined (towards Islam); and to free the captives; and for those in debt; and for Allah’s Cause, and for the wayfarer (a traveller who is cut off from everything); a duty imposed by Allah. And Allah is All-Knower, All-Wise. [Al-Quran 9:60]

1. Al-Fuqara (The poor)

Fuqara are the people who live below the poverty line and don’t have enough means to live a normal life like others. They deserve your zakat in order to meet the daily necessities of their lives.

2. Al-Masakin (The needy)

Masakin are extremely poor and needy people. These people don’t have any possessions or income. Your zakat money can help them in improving their living condition.

3. Zakat collectors

Zakat can be given to the people who are authorized to collect and distribute it among the needy and poor. It includes the trustworthy institutions and NGOS who are working to help underprivileged Muslim communities.

4. Who converted to Islam

Those who are newly converted to Islam are eligible to receive zakat (if they are needy). If someone has converted and is detached from their family and friends, you can give your zakat to them so that they can start their new journey.

5. Freeing captives

Slavery is prohibited in many parts of the world but still people are trafficked and kept as slaves. Zakat money can help slaves in freeing themselves and improve their living standard.

6. Debtors

Zakat can be given to pay off debts of someone who cannot repay on his own. However, one must make sure that the money borrowed by debtor is not used for any un-Islamic or wrong purpose.

7. In the path of Allah

Those who are striving in the path of Allah are entitled to receive your zakat. These are the people who are fighting for Allah’s cause far away from their homes. Your zakat can help them have a better living.

8. Wayfarer (Travelers)

For a traveler who is alone in a foreign land and is in need of money to fulfill his objective of traveling. Refugees can be given zakat money as they leave their countries because of violence and oppression in search of a safe and better place.

Nisab: Zakat Calculator

Zakat is a mandatory duty on all able Muslims who posses wealth at or above a certain threshold. This threshold is called the Nisab. You only pay Zakat if your net assets equal or exceed the Nisab threshold. Zakat should be calculated on 2.5% of all net savings one possesses that is above the nisab value. Net savings is the total maintained wealth for one lunar year before Zakat is due. If net yearly savings falls below this amount, he or she is exempt from paying Zakat. Only those people whose net capital exceeds the nisab values are obliged to give zakat.

The nisab amount is calculated based on the current value of 3 ounces of pure Gold. If you only have gold as an asset, then the Nisab measure for gold must be used. If, however, you have a mixture of assets, then the Nisab level for silver should be used. There is a difference of opinion among some scholars who maintain that gold should be used regardless, however using silver is safer and more beneficial for the recipients of Zakat. If your net assets (income and savings) are above the silver Nisab threshold, you must pay Zakat on the total amount of wealth you own..

Gold Nisab

Using value of gold (87.48 grams) – approximately £3,787.88

Silver Nisab

Using value of silver (612.36 grams) – approximately £243.11


Award Winning Muslim Charity

We having been awarded the UK's Best Muslim Charity at the National British Muslim Awards. Recognised for our outstanding work in villages across Africa, Asia & the Middle East. Working over 20 years to alleviate the impacts of poverty & sickness. Providing humanitarian relief to those affected by natural disasters, war, and conflict.
We Are No.1

We were awarded the UK's Best Charity of 2018 at the National British Muslim Awards. Recognised for our outstanding work in villages across Africa, Asia & the Middle East. Working over 20 years to alleviate the impacts of poverty & sickness. Winning the Charity of the Year Award is evidence of our excellence, dedication, and inclusivity, and it will give us strength to keep working hard and for us to have an even greater positive impact on the communities we serve.